Strengthen me with raisins, refresh me with apples; for I am faint with heat

Wow, it’s been a while! 18 busy days have passed since my last post: work-wise they’ve been hectic, leisure-wise both my camera and computer decided to go on strike (despite being a centenarian in IT-years, the laptop has since recovered; but the camera wasn’t as strong and finally died – sob sob); plus, La Chauve-souris has been away for work most of the time, so I didn’t really make an effort to cook something that would please his demanding taste buds.

Oh, and by the way, after a rather lenient autumn/winter/spring season, the thermometre eventually hit the big 4-0: no way I am going to switch on the oven!

Apple 003

Even though I’m a lover of comfort food, I feel like having just salads, salads, salads, and anything else that does not require much cooking, like this eye-catching concoction of surimi (La Chauve-souris adores it!), apples, and raisins.

I armed myself with a zen-like perseverance equal to that of a Buddhist monk and devoted one hour of my life to meticolously shred 200 gr. crab sticks. Once I was finished with them (and I had attained level 1-nirvana), I mixed the fine strips of crab-flavoured something with 1 Granny Smith apple, cut into small cubes, and 1 Tbsp raisins, that I had previously soaked for 20 minutes in water and lemon juice. All I needed, at this point, was a dressing.

The other day, while I was going through some old, pre-move magazines, I found a copy of “Gourmet” from April 2013, where, on page 76, I’ve seen a “lemon grass dressing” from Hakkasan Dubai that I used as inspiration for my own dressing: I put in a glass jar the juice of 1 lemon and 1 lime with 2 stalks of lemon grass (chopped), 2 cloves of garlic (minced), 1 tsp brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp salt, and 2 Tbsp XV olive oil; closed the lid, shake well, and let to stand for 15 minutes before pouring it on my “salad”.

Gnam gnam! 

Leave a comment